Skip to content

Cool Chick or Geezer Granny?

July 23, 2010

The other day, my son’s swim coach told him how cool I am. My son looked at her like she’d offered him a snack of pickled ear lobes (i.e. with incredulous disgust). The thing is, I’m 40-years-old, I look mid-30’s on a really good day, but I feel 27 most of the time (except for those days that I feel 72). My life is filled with this duality of fossil versus filly.

Here are but a few examples. You be the judge (but don’t, you know, judge):

Chick:
Did a triathlon last year and Kicked. Its. Ass.

Geezer:
Threw my back out last month…reaching for a dishtowel…on the counter in front of me.

Chick:
Went go karting and smoked kids on the track who were half my age.

Geezer:
Lost my car twice yesterday in the same mall parking lot.

Chick:
Two young(ish) children are keeping me young.

Geezer:
So tired last week that I had a nap on the bathroom floor while kids were in the tub.

Chick:
Have become Tweeting, Blogging, Facebooking maniac.

Geezer:
Still haven’t figured out how to rename a folder on my mac.

Chick:
Wrote a chick-lit novel.

Geezer:
Novel’s protagonist has freaky mid-life crisis (wackiness ensues).

Chick:
Went on dirty anniversary weekend with husband, leaving chocolate-stained sheets.

Geezer:
Fell asleep at 11:00 p.m.  watching Real Housewives of Orange County marathon with dropped triangle of mini-bar Toblerone squished under husband’s ribcage.

Let’s call it a draw, shall we?

Cool like Fonzie, baby.

7 Comments leave one →
  1. Beps permalink
    July 23, 2010 1:26 pm

    Ain’t no doubt about it – you’ll always be a Chick in my books!
    (Hmmm, now is that because I am slightly younger but still experiencing the same life changing moments?!? ie: throwing my neck out while towel drying my hair, but also did said triathlon, sometimes go to the wrong side of the car to drive, but can rock it out with the neighbourhood kids who think I’m so cool & want to be my Facebook friend…)

  2. July 24, 2010 2:56 am

    LOL! I can sooooooooooo relate!!!! Fossil vs. filly — love it. Sometimes I ask myself, where the heck did 40 years go?!

  3. August 3, 2010 9:34 am

    I”m dying laughing – so hilarious!

  4. August 3, 2010 3:03 pm

    I might be am an old soul, but technologically I’m mostly a chick (I’m 26). However, I’ve still yet to figure out how to rename a folder on my Mac. Let me know if/when you figure that one out! 🙂

  5. August 3, 2010 4:03 pm

    thats hysterical. just wait and see how fifty feels 😦

  6. August 3, 2010 6:58 pm

    Hilarious and oh how I can relate.

Leave a Reply

