Skip to content

Balls Scare Me

August 9, 2010

My three-year-old is a jock. She’s fearless and eerily capable when it comes to climbing, throwing, catching and kicking. I, on the other hand, am a cross between Charlie Brown and Arrested Development’s George Michael when it comes to athletic prowess (i.e. awkward).

Her hand-eye coordination has been called superior, while mine is best described as…lacking. The first time I golfed, in high school, I pulverized a classmate’s hand on my back swing. I was once removed from a ski hill on a stretcher (granted, I slipped on a french fry in the lodge, but still – skiing accident!). I’m like Jerry on that Seinfeld episode where he’s forced to re-run a big race: I choose not to run. Or, um, catch…or throw… (You get the picture, right?)

My seven-year-old is a fish in the water and was scouted by a swim club when he was five. On land, like me, he’s a bit of a disaster (seriously – he can’t walk five steps without ending up flat on his back with his shoe in a tree), but in water he’s strong, graceful and assured. Same goes for his daddy, who’s like Aquaman (minus the waterproof leotard) and has a black belt in Krav Maga, but never really played football, basketball or hockey. The last one could’ve been a deal-breaker (I live in Canada, people), but my fella’s foreign, so he gets a pass.

Plus, I’m not one to talk: we once went snowshoeing in the majestic Rocky Mountains and – after traversing what we assumed were many kilometers – we stopped to rest for a brief moment, ended up gobbling our lunch, and decided to summit an upcoming crest before turning back for the car. Peeking over the drifts of snow, we realized that, rather than exploring the untouched wilds of the Canadian Rockies, we had yet to leave the parking lot. No, I’m not making this up.

So where did my little angel pick up her mad athlete skillz? I’m guessing my sister, who is also a jock and my daughter’s doppelganger: they’re both blonde-haired, blue-eyed Nordic-types, while my boys and I look like extras on the Sopranos. When I go out with my sister and daughter, many assume I’m the mother aunt.

This bodes very well for my daughter’s athletic development, but if she follows my sister in other respects, we are so screwed when she hits puberty.

Unless you'd rather do a hot yoga class and then go for a Blizzard...

12 Comments leave one →
  1. August 9, 2010 11:58 am

    Lori – I am right there with you! I joined a softball team with the neighbors and pretty much held the role of court jester. Skill no, entertaining – YES! But yet, both my 3-year old and 6-year old got up on waterskiis this weekend! Thank God for their father’s genes!

    • August 9, 2010 1:14 pm

      3 yo on skis?!?! That’s fairly awesome! I did that…once…when I was about 17….
      😉

  2. August 9, 2010 12:22 pm

    My eldest sister and I (I’m the baby) turned out to be more adventurous and athletic. My middle sister refuses to learn how to ride a bike. Funny how life turns out because she ended up with 2 VERY active boys who love sports 🙂 Should be fun to watch!

    • August 9, 2010 1:13 pm

      My sister is a super jock, too – genetics are a funny thing, non?

  3. August 9, 2010 2:27 pm

    I’m like you – I can barely walk without tripping over dust specs, although in my house they are actually dust balls!

    I have hope that one of my kids will be like my hubby, the former lifeguard who used to run cross country and biked many kms to work as a young man. But, alas, my eldest is much like myself and trips on her own shadow. Even golf is definitely out for her as she’s already had an overnight stay at the hospital after a club to the head and now has a permenant dent in her skull! Sigh.

    • August 10, 2010 12:09 am

      Ack! At least it’s something you can recognize and embrace in your daughter – i.e. step away from the golf clubs…

  4. The Perfectly Imperfect One permalink
    August 11, 2010 12:49 am

    I’m a clumsy one too 🙂

  5. August 11, 2010 6:49 pm

    Love the snowshoeing story! Not sure my family of non-athletes would have even been able to get the equipment on…

    • August 11, 2010 8:44 pm

      So funny you should say/write that, because we arrived at the parking lot that day at the same time as a family of 4 with a dog, and by the time we put on our equipment, they had geared up and were specks in the distance. If only we’d taken that as a sign…

  6. August 15, 2010 4:30 pm

    I am totally not athletic! I never liked getting hot and sweaty. My kids, on the other hand, love physical activities. The DNA tests are still pending!

Leave a Reply

