Skip to content

Zdravo and Adio

September 3, 2010

The scene when we leave Sarajevo is melancholic verging on despondent. This is where we say goodbye to all of the family, including my in-laws, and the aunties in particular are a mess – they hadn’t seen my husband in almost 20 years and I’m sure they’re wondering how long it will take for us to return (hint: not as long).

Our time in Serbia and Bosnia was truly once-in-a-lifetime: not many people get to visit so many places, living with the residents instead of hotels especially with my husband and his family as guides (I’m pretty sure I’m the only non-military Canadian to have set foot in certain areas).

I’m feeling beyond lucky – not only to have the life that I do back home, but also to have such a warm and loving family here in Europe, ready to embrace me as their own. They have stories that couldn’t possibly be contained in one blog (but maybe in a book… 😉 ) .

Now we’re off to Croatia, staying in a flat overlooking the old town and Adriatic Sea, for a week of rest and relaxation…in theory.

*I’m not even sure what the Canadian mating call would be…burping after a Beaver Tail? Poutine? Timbits? Discuss…

Goodbye, beautiful...

5 Comments leave one →
  1. September 3, 2010 12:50 pm

    What an amazing experience for your kids! Years ago we toured around Greece (where my dad is from). We met my grandparents (who live in Canada near us) at their village. They showed us every detail – the church they were married, where they first met, where they would go for walks together, etc. Every detail of that portion of our trip is ironed in memory. This summer my grandfather passed away and when I think of him, my mind wanders back to that trip we took together. It was a very special time.

    Enjoy Crotia by the sea….. sounds Heavenly!

    • September 6, 2010 4:53 pm

      Awww – I love that…I hope my kids remember at least some of this trip…!

  2. September 4, 2010 11:51 am

    I have so enjoyed you sharing this trip with us. I don’t get to travel much so I use posts like these as an escape. Thank you.

  3. September 5, 2010 11:58 am

    Your trip sounds amazing. I have loved reading all your posts and seeing the pictures. Thanks for keeping up the posts!

Leave a Reply

