Skip to content

I Want My Mommy

September 24, 2010

My mom arrives tomorrow for a weeklong visit. This is great news for my husband, who gets to eat her cooking, and fantastic news for my kids, who will spend hours at the park. But no one is more excited than I, because for seven glorious days, I get to be a second-string mom.

I’ll still be top-tier for things like scraped knees and ass butlering, but my mom will (happily?) take over a lot of the mundane tasks that make up a SAHMs day: folding laundry; putting the kids to bed; and loading the dishwasher. (Yes, I am Marion Cunningham.)

Her visits allow me to revisit, very briefly, a time when I was responsible only for myself. When I could eat popcorn for dinner. Or join a friend for a lunch date that didn’t include a juice box. Or go to a matinee movie without 3D glasses.

I will be able to write uninterrupted. I will do hot yoga. I will shop in stores that don’t offer strollers. (It appears that I aspire to be Candace Bushnell, only with less random sex and more comfortable shoes. So…still Mrs. Cunningham.)

Obviously I’ll also get to have a great visit with my mom. And it’s not that I don’t relish staying home with my kids; I know exactly how lucky I am to be in the position to both work from home as well as have an opportunity to step back and appreciate it all the more.

There’s a song that sums this up nicely: “How Can I Miss You If You Never Go Away.” Thank you, mom, for giving me a break from the ‘burb life next week and allowing me to miss it a little bit. (And if I do fewer posts, rest assured I am fine. And most likely in a pedicure chair moaning inappropriately.)

Today I look like this.


Tomorrow I will look like this.

23 Comments leave one →
  1. September 24, 2010 7:24 am

    You fucking whore. I hate you. I want to look like Carrie Bradshaw this week. What the hell???

    • September 26, 2010 8:38 pm

      Bwa hahahaaaaaaaaaaa

      Excuse me while I go fetch my Manolos…

  2. September 24, 2010 8:43 am

    Am so jealous! I love when Grandma’s come and take over. To be honest I like when anyone shows any interest at all…maybe that is why my friends don’t want to come over for coffee? Because they will be folding my laundry while we visit? Hey, you offered!

    • September 26, 2010 8:39 pm

      I’ll be your BFF AND do your laundry if you clean my toilet…

  3. Doris permalink
    September 24, 2010 9:34 am

    It may seem strange to you, but this really is my idea of fun ….. spending time with the grand-kids and giving you and hubby a break and some date time. I only get to do this a few times a year so I’m looking forward to it. See you tomorrow. Love, Mom

  4. September 24, 2010 10:21 am

    Love the Mamas!
    When our kids go off to Grandma’s house my husband looks at me and says, ‘You’re planning to have popcorn and a bottle of wine for dinner, aren’t you?!’ I love popcorn and wine for dinner!

    • September 26, 2010 8:40 pm

      I could eat popcorn 24/7. I only see my parents a few times a year, so I relish the guilt-free me time!

  5. September 24, 2010 11:01 am

    Oh I”m so jealous… I love when my mom comes to visit! don’t tell my husband (or my dad eek) but she is the only grandparent I ever want to visit! She takes care of everything and ME! The last time she was here my daughter was 6 weeks old (now almost 7 months) and that is the last time I went to yoga or got my hair done (by a professional). It’s so nice to have a mom around.

    • September 26, 2010 8:42 pm

      Andrea – half the time when my mom (or even MIL) show up, I immediately get sick. It’s like my body knows there’s a mommy around and shuts down to get some babying. So far, only some sniffles, but she’s been here for only 2 days…

  6. September 24, 2010 11:38 am

    Yeah for you! My MIL does this for me too. IT.IS.VUNDERFUL!
    My mom on the other hand becomes another mouth to feed, another person with tender feelings to coddle and otherwise delightful albatross around my neck.

    Can I come stay with you? I’ll fold laundry! I’ll even rub your mom’s feet!

    • September 26, 2010 8:43 pm

      Having not seen my mother’s feet, that is a VERY generous offer…she’s currently mulling it over a glass of wine…(like mother like daughter)

  7. September 24, 2010 12:29 pm

    My own mother is also named Doris, but that is where the similarities end. She is wonderful with the kids and has great intentions but is better at spoiling and dashing then replacing me. When she leaves the kids are happy and taken care of, but my house is a wreck, I need therapy from walking on egg shells and my husband is near postal.

    Therefore, Lori forgive me for my boldness:

    Doris – when can you come visit me??? I live in beautiful Northern California and will treat you like a queen as long as I get some of this me time Lori is bragging about. 😉

    • September 26, 2010 8:44 pm

      Paige – you sneaky little minx! Thankfully, I’ve been able to limit my mom’s access to the internet while she’s here, because Northern Cali kicks central Ontario’s ass every time!

  8. September 24, 2010 1:50 pm

    Let’s put your mom on rotation. Can I be next?

    • September 26, 2010 8:44 pm

      That’s it – as far as my mom’s concerned, our internet is down… 😉

  9. September 24, 2010 2:14 pm

    Love, love, love being second-string mom. It’s why I’m currently trying to bribe my mother to move closer. And lord, you’re gonna look amazing tomorrow. You just gonna roll out of your pristine white bed, slip into your Manolos (or Eccos, whatever), grab a ciggie and start typing a thoughtful, witty narration of your life. Which – hey! You’re already doing…today!

    Enjoy this time. Me very jealous.

    • September 26, 2010 8:47 pm

      You had me at Eccos! So far, the visit is a success – apparently I had pounds of stray lint floating in my dryer lint catcher area thingy…a fire hazard that has now been eradicated. Also…folded laundry! Woo hoo! (fyi – thoughtful memoir narration curtailed for extended trip to Costco…still a win in my book)

  10. September 24, 2010 11:01 pm

    This makes me want my mom to visit even more. I give her all the jobs I never get around to: cleaning my hairbrushes, sewing on buttons, fixing hems, making burgers for the freezer, vacuuming. Ode to moms who make their daughters’ lives easier.

    • September 26, 2010 8:47 pm

      CLEANING HAIRBRUSHES?!?!?! The ladies in these comments are totally gonna start hitting on your mom next, toots…

  11. September 25, 2010 2:35 am

    Ummm. Don’t forget about our little Restless Writers soiree this week too?!!!!

    • September 26, 2010 8:48 pm

      I am gonna be a buffed, polished, freshly waxed vision at the meeting, baby!

  12. September 28, 2010 9:43 am

    I have to take my mom to the airport today after a 2 week visit.

    I am going to miss her.

    Granted, thanks to The Cough nothing was accomplished that I wanted to on my house. But I did get a date out with the hubby. I got evil appointments done like flu shots (all but Kyra), dentist (Tackler and me), check up (Kyra), hair cut (Tackler, but I didn’t get time for mine), and a day out at an amusement park with just Tackler and hubby while Lil K stayed with her.

    I got to sit out on my deck on the most beautiful day ever and write on my laptop.

    And she baked Mimi’s Famous Sticky Rolls.

    Did I mentioned I’m going to miss her?

    I hope your mom’s visit was a wonderful as anticipated.

Leave a Reply

