Skip to content

Long Live The Donger

November 3, 2010

I recently introduced one of my favourite films, Sixteen Candles, to the Serb. He knew that Samantha Baker and the Donger were near and dear to me, and wanted to see what all the fuss was about. Most of it still held up (Helllloooo Jake Ryan!) but other parts, like the loaning-your-passed-out-girlfriend-to-a-stranger part, seemed a tad dated. My husband now seriously doubts my taste in all things cinematic because – true confession time – my track record kind of sucks.

Anyone remember Ishtar? It was voted one of the worst and costliest movies of all time, and I saw it. Twice. In the theatre. Adventures in Babysitting? Still have it in my personal library. On VHS. Years ago, I took Ho Boy to see Romy and Michele’s High School Reunion and in retribution he dragged me to Gone Fishin’. To his dismay, I loved both films in all their craptastic glory. Basically, if a movie was made between 1984 and 1998 and featured either angst-ridden high schoolers or ridiculous characters in absurd situations, chances are I saw it and loved it.

Unfortunately, my cinephile skills have not improved with time: I despised The Hangover (who laughs at a baby left in a closet and driven around without a proper carseat?) and I’ve never watched an Oliver Stone film. However, I’ve enjoyed most of the Lindsay Lohan oeuvre and although I haven’t yet seen Gigli, I’m sure I’d find it charming.

Moving forward, I’ve decided to play it safe with my choice of all-time favourite film: The Commitments. You may not understand what the frack they’re saying (chances are they’re swearing), but at least there’s no pimping of girlfriends to earnest virgins. Perhaps my tastes are refining with age after all. Now if you’ll excuse me, Glitter is on the W Network…

Yes, my friends - it's as funny as it looks.

Try it, you'll like it...

Joe Pesci + cigar under water = comedy gold

Ahhh...that's better...

22 Comments leave one →
  1. November 3, 2010 10:36 am

    You bad movie woman, you. “Sixteen Candles” brings back memories for me. My quite older sister got married 6 days after I turned 16. No boy on the scene for me, though.

    But truth be told, I was a Footloose girl.

    • November 3, 2010 9:20 pm

      TOTALLY A FOOTLOOSE GIRL TOO!!!! Still have it on VHS…yes, we still have a VHS. In fact, the movie BANDITS is in it right now. My all-time favorite…

      • November 5, 2010 7:42 am

        It’s all good, ladies. There is no judging here (for this post, anyway).

  2. athenapearl permalink
    November 3, 2010 10:41 am

    I agree with the craptastic glory of most of these films, ESPECIALLY Sixteen Candles. And I felt the same way about the ‘girlfriend loaning’–its messed up!

    • November 5, 2010 7:43 am

      It really is, but if anyone’s gonna do it, let it be Mr. Ryan.

  3. November 3, 2010 10:44 am

    Oh boy, I need to find you and send you to movies with my husband. He thinks Nacho Libre was cinematic genius!

  4. November 3, 2010 11:32 am

    I love you so much yet looooathe your movie choices…:). Well I do love the Commitments. I’ve actually been to see Oliver Stone speak because I was so obsessed with his movies. AND even though I can’t stand comedies…I freaking died at The Hangover…oh well, at least we both love wine.

  5. November 3, 2010 12:01 pm

    There is nothing wrong with Sixteen Candles. That is a movie classic! My girls will see it the appropiate age and so will their daughters and so forth.
    And totally .. sigh Jake Ryan … whatever happened to him? He was like totally hot!
    OMG!

    • November 5, 2010 7:44 am

      Confession: I totally stalked Jake online. He’s now a woodworker in Vermont or some place, married to a model with 2 college-age kids. GAH!

  6. November 3, 2010 12:18 pm

    John Hughes was a GENIUS — and although there may be elements of his films that are less than PC (the whole loaned girlfriend thing) they are still important elements of America’s — and my — cinematic glory. On that note, you might enjoy the sly references to 80’s movies (especially John Cusack’s movies) in Hot Tub Time Machine.

    Crystal
    http://www.crystalspins.com

    • November 5, 2010 7:45 am

      I was anticipating Hot Tub Time Machine more than my kids did Christmas. I quite loved it. My husband fell asleep.

  7. November 3, 2010 3:14 pm

    Adventures in Babysitting is pure Awesomeness. Elizabeth Shue’s comedic timing while she sings the blues about babysitting is timeless. TIMELESS!

    I do think that some movies I just thought rocked the casbah in middle school are a little silly. I recently re-visited Dirty Dancing & the plot is ridiculous! A girl gets knocked up & has to have an abortion & then Jennifer Gray sleeps with Patrick Swayze? Whatever. But to see Patrick move those hips is worth suffering through no character development what-so-ever.

    Nobody puts Baby in a corner.

    • November 5, 2010 7:46 am

      Ohhh – good one! I remember watching them dancing and thinking it was SO risque! And re. Ms. Shue – it’s her best work aside from Leaving Las Vegas…

  8. November 3, 2010 5:38 pm

    Oh, you and me. We could be so close. I too love a good craptastic film. And we watch the Commitments EVERY time it’s aired.

    While I think Zach Galifianakisis a comic genius, he is an acquired taste. Hangover, blah. His Between Two Ferns, AWESOME!

    I think I’ve got Cousin Vinny on my watch instantly queue!

    • November 5, 2010 7:48 am

      Marisa Tomei totally earned her Oscar! (And yes, we must hang out together – you are coming to our Blog-her of the North…not sure when or where, but there will be wine!)

  9. November 7, 2010 9:34 am

    Great list of outdated classics — it’s amazing what *used* to be (read: still is) entertainment for a few of us.

    While in the movie section of a major store the other day, I ran across Big. “Mindless, fun romp,” I thought, and proceeded to buy it and bring it home for my children to watch. Totally forgot the rampant smoking and strange storyline twists (“She actually sleeps with a just-turned-13-year-old? Ewww…”)

    Needless to say, I’ll be screening my 80s flicks from now on before showing to the kiddos! 😉

    • November 9, 2010 6:31 am

      Oh – good one! Big is a total classic! But yes, slightly twisted.

  10. November 11, 2010 12:31 am

    Romy and Michelle’s High School Reunion is one of the finest films of all time. The part where they fly off in the high school dork’s helicopter? That is perhaps one of the most classic scenes in modern cinema.

    Now- Have you ever seen Grease 2? That is one of the worst movies in history.

    • November 11, 2010 6:31 am

      Don’t even get me started – I was going to include Grease 2 in the post! I chose it for the site of my birthday party (10th?) and l.o.v.e.d. it! Cool Rider forevah!

Trackbacks

  1. Mob Moms R Us « Lori Dyan

Leave a Reply

