Skip to content

The Secret to Great Hash*

December 15, 2010

I scour online recipes looking for dinner ideas because, baking calamities aside, I really enjoy cooking and have been told by people other than my husband that I’m pretty good at it.

There have been some scrumptious successes (my rib sauce recipe is in a time capsule) and disgusting defeats (the words “warm”, “apple” and “salad” cause the Serb to weep uncontrollably). But nothing in recent memory has tickled my family’s fancy quite like my mom’s recipe for hash.

Hash is something I grew up with in the 70’s, along with SPAM and tuna casserole. I remember my mom making it often, but I never craved it (unlike her banana cream pie – I would consider selling one of my kids for a piece of that Dream Whip-covered goodness).

My mom made hash during her last trip out here and my family lost their minds for it. So now, in the spirit of giving – and who doesn’t love a meal that can be made in under ten minutes for less than ten dollars? – I now present to you: Hash.

The ingredients are deceptively simple:

Notice the bottle of wine in the background.

The method is equally effortless: cook noodles, then add cheese packet, but no milk; brown meat, then add soup; mix it all together with a bit of milk, squirt some organic ketchup on top (cuz I’m all fancy n’ sh*t); put it on the table and watch your family turn into a pack of feral dogs trying to get the biggest helping.

I almost lost a finger taking this.

Despite the misleading name and unsavoury presentation, this stuff is like crack to my family (turns out this is a drug post after all):

I know what you’re thinking: Nigella Lawson must be sh*tting herself.

To accompany this homage to 1978, may I suggest a side salad of iceberg lettuce with Thousand Island dressing and a can of creamed corn? Now if you’ll excuse me, I need to go set the mood with some Captain & Tennille…

*My sincere apologies to those drug users who’ve landed here expecting helpful hookah tips…although this is pretty great if you have the munchies.

18 Comments leave one →
  1. December 15, 2010 8:42 am

    that looks DELICIOUS!! Then again I served my kid white kd with tuna and peas last night…fark…

    • December 15, 2010 4:54 pm

      I figure that as long as they eat, we’re doing just fine…

  2. December 15, 2010 10:44 am

    Can dessert be jello with shredded carrots in it? My favourite 1970s meal was fried bologna. My mom had to put a small cut in it so it wouldn’t curl up. Yum yum…or not.

    • A 70's Mom permalink
      December 15, 2010 2:02 pm

      We tried to get the fried bologna to curl up into what we called a bologna cup, and then we filled them with scrambled eggs …. Yummmmy!

    • December 15, 2010 4:45 pm

      Fried Bologna was a 70’s staple in our house! Oh, I’m gonna have to make some JUST for nostalgia’s sake….a definite yum!

    • December 15, 2010 4:55 pm

      I would compliment my bologna sandwich with a bowl of vanilla ice cream doused in grape kool-aid. It explains a lot, actually…

  3. ryoko861 permalink
    December 15, 2010 11:51 am

    The best hash I ever had was in brownies…..uh huh….gooood stuff.

  4. December 15, 2010 3:36 pm

    Heehee.

    The Nigella referance, loved it.

    And that does look delicious.

  5. December 15, 2010 3:59 pm

    Yes!! Easy and inexpensive meal, you are talking my language! From the picture, it looks like a comfort food, I will definitely try it, it’ll be a good change for our rice eating family. Ha!

  6. December 15, 2010 5:08 pm

    My mom made the orange jello w/ carrots and crushed pineapple. Still love it. Another fave is strawberry jello mix, coolwhip, crushed pineapple, cottage cheese and chopped walnuts. It was called Amy’s pink. YUM!

    But my mom’s best 70’s recipe she called Goulash! I found out 20 years later its really just chili mac. Sheesh!

    But your mom’s hash…no thanks. Save it for the kids, would ya.

    • December 17, 2010 6:23 pm

      Ugh. I won’t give you hash if you keep the coolwhip/cottage cheese away from me… I’m sure we can find a common ground over some merlot…

  7. December 16, 2010 12:11 am

    You know, this actually looks like something even I could master. I may – JUST MAY – give this a go. Especially since you said it was like crack.

    Thank you and God bless the Captain and Tennille.

  8. Samantha permalink
    December 16, 2010 1:51 pm

    I bet my kids would eat that. We do the Kraft Dinner and ground beef thing, but I’ve never put tomato soup in it. Brilliant!

Leave a Reply

