Skip to content

Tonight We’re Gonna Party Like It’s 1899

January 3, 2011

On January 1, 2000 the Serb and I eloped on a beach in the Cook Islands (that experience will get its own post on another day). The auspiciousness of the day wasn’t the only reason we chose the millennium: it was an easy day for him us to remember; he we would always know which anniversary it was (i.e. 2008 was our eighth anniversary); and we’d always begin our anniversary with a kiss (I was a lot shmoopier back then).

Fast forward a few years and I’m lucky if we’re awake to kiss at midnight. Every year my parents stay with us for a week after Christmas and New Year’s Eve day is my dad’s birthday, so we’ve usually opted to celebrate the evening at home with them. And by celebrate, I mean eating a heavy meal, watching a DVD and struggling to not fall asleep before ten o’clock.

Since this was the first New Year’s Eve of my forties, I was determined to celebrate in a less…sedentary manner. We decided, along with my fellow Restless Writers, to do the works: dinner, dancing and an open bar. Such an endeavour required serious training – I steadily increased my wine intake while the Serb practiced staying up past eleven o’clock.

The night of the party, I sauntered in sporting a killer dress and massive hair. We settled in at our table for ten and had a look around. The room was beautifully decorated and dimly lit, but you could still see this was a more mature crowd than anticipated. The average age of the Restless Writers (and partners) is 37-years-old. The average age of everyone around us was twenty years older. At least.

We had foregone an evening with my parents to hang out with their contemporaries. Rather than being young, single and ready to mingle, it was more like old, creaky and less likely to get freaky.

Aside from the Serb accidentally elbowing our server in the crotch, dinner was a subdued affair. After piped-in music of the Moon River variety and a six-course meal laden with starch, we were wondering if the room would be empty before the band even started.

Holy crap, were we ever mistaken. From the moment that the band took the stage, the entire place exploded: these old farts could party! For a few of the more senior seniors, it was hard to discern a Charleston from a seizure, but everyone else was jumping around singing to the Black Eyed Peas like teenagers. That’s when I truly understood the platitude of people in their forties everywhere: age is definitely a state of mind.

Happy New Year!

Ain't it the truth...

18 Comments leave one →
  1. January 3, 2011 8:59 am

    Another fab post. Happy anniversary! We too got married in 2000 which does help with the year. I can’t remember the last time we saw midnight on NY’s Eve, though…

    • January 3, 2011 3:38 pm

      Midnight on NYE is over rated unless you’re at a swanky do with the promise of pastries at 12:15 a.m. #mysecretisout

      • January 4, 2011 6:25 pm

        Did we miss the pastries? Dammit… At least tell me that the Chef would have been disappointed!

  2. January 3, 2011 9:58 am

    Chalk one up for the old folks. Gotta give them credit for staying up late, while I was asleep 30 minutes prior to midnight myself.

    • January 3, 2011 3:39 pm

      I literally don’t go past ten o’clock most nights, including NYE. My friend has a great theory – ppl in their 30’s-40’s are too busy with their kids to really party, while the older folks have empty houses and know they can sleep in the next day – total incentive to party!

  3. January 3, 2011 10:50 am

    NYE conversation with BF over the phone-
    Timestamp: 10:49 pm, NYE
    Him: “Baby, I’m kinda sleepy. I’m afraid I’m going to fall asleep before 12. Would you be upset with me?”
    Me: “Babe.. I’m already in bed. I was about to say goodnight and go to sleep..”
    We are 23 going on 74.

    • January 3, 2011 3:40 pm

      Classic. You should join us at a restaurant next NYE where they do an early celebration for families – 6pm!

  4. January 3, 2011 12:33 pm

    Ha. Nice post, Lori! Ever try to take a cab on NYE at 2 am? Yeah……..I don’t recommend it 😦 Thank goodness for the warm temps & comfy boots! All in all, was a great night, I am in love with Freedom Train, aka, the wicked band. Wow, our first RW social with hubs!

    • January 3, 2011 3:41 pm

      Sigh. I knew we should’ve bullied you into coming with us. Ah well – next stop: Serbie Meat Fest!

  5. January 3, 2011 1:58 pm

    Oh god, Moon River is going to be stuck in my head all day!

    Have I told you lately I love your “voice”? It’s like I’m reading my own words but funnier and way more sophisticated!

    BTW, we have an embroidered pillow w/ our wedding date on it. We each sneak a peak to check the date each year. We are SO NOT SCHMOOPIES!

    • January 3, 2011 3:42 pm

      Thanks, beautiful! You’ve made my year! 😀

      p.s. our shmoop days are long gone as well!

  6. January 3, 2011 2:22 pm

    Happy Anniversary!
    My man and I need to sport a night on the time too and party with some real animals. His aunt and uncle can party. Let me tell you!

    • January 3, 2011 3:43 pm

      Love the party animal relatives – they can do it for us vicariously!

  7. Trish Loye Elliott permalink
    January 3, 2011 3:42 pm

    Love it, Lori! Happy Anniversary. Your NYE sounded fun. Ours wasn’t bad. A nice dinner (at home) and then games with the kidlets and letting them stay up late (till 10). Whoo! Yeah, I know, we’re party animals. Great post again!

    • January 3, 2011 3:54 pm

      There is definitely something to be said for a foundation garment-free evening…

  8. January 4, 2011 8:49 am

    Can I come next year?? Think of all the old dudes with heart problems that I could have met! AGGGH. Were you at the Old Mill or something??

  9. January 4, 2011 5:57 pm

    No wonder I never find places hopping – I need to find places with an older age set!

  10. January 4, 2011 7:35 pm

    This cracked me up! Love that you sported big hair. And had to practice staying up late.

    And you’re right – fogies know how to dance like no one’s bidnis! I remember my grandparents would dance at EVERY opportunity and they were great. Embarrassing for a teenager, but great.

Leave a Reply

