Skip to content

What Was I Saying?

January 17, 2011

Two mornings a week my three-year-old daughter attends pre-school and picking her up is normally the highlight of my day: she runs and launches herself into my arms, covering me in kisses and showing me her artwork. Last week she saw me, planted her hands on her hips and immediately demanded to know where her cheese stick was. One that I’d bought her the week before, then eaten after dropping her off at school.

She also regularly reminds me that we took the number eight bus when we were in Dubrovnik five months ago. And I suspect she’ll be ruminating over The Great Ice Cream Cone Heist of 2010 for years to come (actually, so will I – her meltdown was epic). Yet despite her extraordinary memory, my daughter still can’t remember the simple things. Like wearing clothes.

Her seven-year-old brother is more of a mixed bag. Last November, he begged my husband to take him to the hardware store. When they arrived, my husband saw that my son was wearing only socks on his feet. Our second grade son had walked outside our home to the car, in November in Ontario, and still, he forgot his shoes.

But then a few days later, he asked why the cotton candy we’d bought him at an amusement park in Calgary three years ago didn’t come on a stick, like it did in a story I was reading him. I’m hoping it’s a case of extreme genius (apparently Albert Einstein was a shoe- forgetter), but a more likely explanation is that they take after me in the brain-fart department.

I struggle to remember if I had a shower yesterday (most likely answer: nope) and once put a package of mushrooms in the dryer. I regularly lose my keys, cell phone and – during one memorable snowstorm a few days before Christmas – my car (mall security had to drive me and my newborn around the parking lot for an hour).

Thankfully, the Serb has a great memory and shows no signs of losing it (even in his old age – zing!). If his memory goes we’re totally screwed, because he’d likely revert to his native tongue and the only Serbian I know would get me arrested.

I wish these came in onesies.

13 Comments leave one →
  1. ryoko861 permalink
    January 17, 2011 8:26 am

    I can’t say my kids ever forgot their shoes, but ever since I’ve had kids I am ALWAYS locking the keys in the car or losing them for months on end. Just this past Christmas I locked my keys in the car at Kohls. This has been going on for 23 years. On one of our cars, we had a spare key put into one of those magnet boxes that you hide somewhere on the car. Very useful! Came in handy a couple times!

    The cell I don’t use much, so I usually know where it is in the house. If it’s on, I just ring it on the land line.

    Haven’t lost the car yet. But there’s still time.

    • January 18, 2011 6:56 am

      I need to be like those old people who put a pom pom on their antennas…which, I suppose makes me one of those old people…

      • ryoko861 permalink
        January 20, 2011 4:21 pm

        LMAO!! Or the Micky Mouse !!!

        You could just park in the same spot or area each time you go. I do that when I go food shopping. Helps alot.

  2. January 17, 2011 9:01 am

    My daughter’s meltdown are epic as well…I am thinking about taking her to Preschool too but right now, saving on money since the hubs is home. That will change when he starts working next month though, but I have my sister living with us as well….so Preschool might not happen till 5 or 6 months from now, we’ll see. Hope you have a good week lady 🙂

    • January 18, 2011 6:57 am

      Once pre-school begins, you will have writing material for YEARS! 😉

  3. Gena Karoui permalink
    January 17, 2011 10:57 am

    .. you made me laugh so hard, Lori..:))) You are really really really something.. Amazing talent you have and I don’t know how I missed that about you when we were working together..
    You also probably don’t know me well. The thing is — I like to laugh a lot! But a large part of time it’s at myself.

    Please keep writing. I love when I find your posts in my email.

    Wish you all the best,
    Gena

    • January 18, 2011 6:58 am

      Gena, I don’t think our shared work situation was very conducive to laughing and being creative… 😉 I’m so glad you stop by to read my stuff – keep in touch and let me know how things are going for you!

  4. January 17, 2011 11:34 am

    What is out with their freakish photographic memories? Mine do the same thing and I can’t even finish a cup of coffee without losing it.

  5. January 17, 2011 8:05 pm

    My wife and I are the same way. I can barely remember my own name on most days and she remembers exactly what she had for dinner on Aug. 12th, 1974. Thankfully, all of our children have taken after me and are complete idiots….. 🙂

    • January 18, 2011 7:44 am

      My husband’s sister remembers the date/time/circumstances that she ate a banana in 1995 and I am not kidding in the slightest.

  6. January 17, 2011 9:16 pm

    LOL this is too funny. I also have a seven year old son, and it is a constant discussion in our household lately as to why my son is stuck on stupid!!! Not to sound overly mean, but I feel as if there is something wrong with him lately…. he truly does the DUMBEST things, asks the DUMBEST questions, and has to be CONSTANTLY reminded of the most simple day-to-day routines……. I have been scouring the internet for help, but I am glad to see that he is not broken or brain damaged and it may ACTUALLY be just a phase!!!!!

Leave a Reply

