Skip to content

Forties Dame or Farrelly Babe?

February 11, 2011

My kids don’t see a lot of television – in part because the hippie school doesn’t like it, but mostly because they become zombie-eyed dullards by the first commercial. Last week my three-year-old was sick and I let her watch some Bugs Bunny, which I suspect is the cause for some rather interesting behavior.

Normally my daughter is one of the boys: nothing makes her happier than blasting some gas, announcing it to everyone and laughing hysterically. She also takes great pleasure in a good burp, giving “weenie shots” to her unsuspecting brother and challenging everyone she meets to a thumb war. This potent combination of angelic, giggly blonde and kick-ass tomboy suggests a mini-me of Cameron Diaz in There’s Something About Mary.

But Bugs has changed everything. Now she’s like some sassy broad from a bygone era – think Lombard or Stanwyck. She’s taken to calling me “bub” or “nincompoop” and will often collapse on our sofa for no reason, flinging her hand dramatically across her forehead.

Last night she demanded that chocolate milk be brought to her (with a straw!) while she had a bubble bath (permission denied…by mommy, anyway). Instead of clunking her brother on the head when he annoys her, my daughter will now seethe “How dare you!”

I’m not sure how to deal with this latest version of my daughter. For now I’m ignoring it…at least until I can walk to the next room, where I laugh my ass off.

Bugs

+

Cameron Diaz

=

My Daughter

13 Comments leave one →
  1. February 11, 2011 12:43 pm

    Lori – My baby girl went from TomBoy to Diva so I had her start watching more SpiderMan. My TomBoy is back, wearing pink, but back! 😉

  2. February 11, 2011 2:58 pm

    ROTFLOL – Reminds me of when my daughter, who was 4yr at the time, hurled our tempered tabby cat off of the upper landing of our home to see if he would indeed land on his feet as ‘Animal Planet’ claimed he would. He did in fact land upright and no parties were injured in this TV inspiried activity (other than a huge scratch Miss inquisitive sustained as the terrified tabby clawed for life.)
    Great post – thanks, the laugh was much needed!!

    • February 11, 2011 3:05 pm

      Hey – thanks for stopping by and commenting! It’s crazy what kids emulate (which is why my daughter is banned from MTV and reality TV forever!)…

      • February 11, 2011 3:59 pm

        You’re great…just added you to my list for future readings!

  3. February 11, 2011 8:46 pm

    You mean they eventually stop trying to wrestle you and request bubble baths? Because that actually sounds like paradise from where I’m sitting.

  4. TheIdiotSpeaketh permalink
    February 12, 2011 4:16 pm

    Nincompoop! That’s one of the few names that our kids never called us! Lucky you! 🙂

  5. February 12, 2011 4:49 pm

    Loved the Lombard and Stanwyck reference…I’m only hoping you’re not thinking Stanwyck in “The Thorn Birds.”

    I still can’t quite get that picture out of my head. All her smoldering at Richard Chamberlain.

    Maybe, if she’s tried a little of Mary’s hair mousse, she could’ve gotten the priest.

    Sorry. That was probably completely inappropriate. I blame it on Bugs Bunny. I watched a lot of it.

    Am officially a nincompoop.

  6. February 12, 2011 5:44 pm

    Bub or nincompoop – hilarious! Bugs does offer a certain linguistic je ne sais what’s up doc, doesn’t he? Your daughter sounds like a hoot. I love it.

  7. February 15, 2011 6:34 pm

    We may be the only parents who have blocked the Bugs Bunny channel (sure, kids, surf all the inappropriate adult content you want…but Bugs? No way). My son was addicted to it and quoting everything, including the commercials. It’s been a month now. Yesterday, he announced he’s changed his favourite number (which used to be 11) to 67. Yes, that’s the channel we blocked.

  8. February 16, 2011 4:37 pm

    I’ll have to live vicariously through your girl stories. I have 2 boys and even though they are 2 and 5, they are already eating me out of house and home. Your daughter has good taste, we tried to get our kids hooked on bugs, but they seem to prefer scooby doo and phineas and ferb. I can’t get enough of phineas and ferb so that’s all good with me.

    I love this age where they start really expressing themselves with their ever expanding vocabulary.

    • February 18, 2011 9:27 am

      What is this phineas and ferb you speak of? I’m gonna look it up…

Leave a Reply

