Skip to content

Dexter Has Nothing on Dog the Bounty Hunter

February 18, 2011

My offensive taste in movies has been well documented – and rest assured, my lameness in such matters has not abated (Hot Tub Time Machine, anyone?) – but when it comes to television, I’ve always considered myself a connoisseur of sorts.*

Lately I’ve realized that, despite the hundreds (of thousands) of hours I’ve spent in front of the boob tube, my taste is…not great. Here are a few of the gems I’ve missed over the years:

Friday Night Lights
Last week I was reading a lot of blog chatter (blatter?) about the final episode and how despondent fans were to see this show come to an end. I didn’t start watching it because I thought it was a “football” show (I don’t know what that even means…but football makes me nervous…I don’t know the rules…like, at all).

Dawson’s Creek
We’re fighting now, aren’t we? I have no excuse for not jumping on Pacey’s bandwagon, except that I was probably busy watching Suddenly Susan.

Alias
I’m fighting with myself on this one. I was a newlywed in a new city when this started and I was probably *cough* busy. I love me some Jennifer Garner, and chick spies rock, so I may have to rent this one…

24
This premiered when Alias did (see: the newlywed factor) and by the time I wanted to watch it, I’d missed too many episodes (see: the X Files conundrum).

Gilmour Girls
I’ve got nothing. I suck.

Buffy the Vampire Slayer
BJas is gonna kill me at our writers’ meeting tonight, but I didn’t (and still don’t) get the whole vampire thing. Joss Whedon fans wanting to throw garbage at my house will have to get in line behind those of J. J. Abrams…

Lost
I blame dummy mummy syndrome: I’d just had my son and didn’t sleep the year Lost began (although I distinctly remember watching Joey that same year…you see?…classic dummy mummy move). And you have to admit, if you take too long in the bathroom during a commercial of Lost, you are screwed.

Dexter
Since having kids, I can’t watch anything too violent: re-runs of The Littlest Hobo make me weep hysterically. Dexter would put me in the hospital.

The moral of this story? D’uh. Watch more TV, obviously. Now if you’ll excuse me, The Marriage Ref is starting...

Yes, that's right: I passed up this...

For this.

* It has nothing to do with critical thinking: my skills are based more on quantity of shows watched rather than quality.

24 Comments leave one →
  1. February 18, 2011 8:05 am

    I can’t think of a single show I’ve ever watched before it went into syndication. You see I have a problem. I have a bad memory and I can’t ever seem to remember what night things are on. I love marathons, so I can watch an entire season of something in a sitting.

    • February 18, 2011 9:22 am

      I love the marathons – it’s hooked me on so many time-sucking shows!

  2. ryoko861 permalink
    February 18, 2011 12:54 pm

    Pffft, you’re better than me, I didn’t see ANY of those you mention. I rarely watch tv because of the commercials. TOO MANY. Pisses me off. If I do watch tv, I watch stuff on Comedy Central, History Channel or BBC America. I’m lame, I know.

    • February 19, 2011 2:11 pm

      But look at you – the shows you ARE watching are on BBC and the History Channel. I’m watching Real Housewives of Wherever on Bravo…!

  3. February 18, 2011 1:48 pm

    I liked the Hot Tub Machine but then my tv skillz aren’t at all hip or of a high caliber either. My favorite shows: Vampire Diaries (ok, I know you don’t get the Vampire bit but you at least have to get the Ian Somerholder is insanely wonderful to look at factor) and Supernatural. I’m not sure either of these shows are hot but I like em’ and, I like to think, they like me too.
    Ian, if you’re reading this Call Me!

    • February 19, 2011 2:11 pm

      My writing pal Beckie/BJas lives for Vampire Diaries, so I can appreciate it (not understand it, but appreciate it) 🙂

      I think that the legion of actors in Vampire-related shows have probably stopped reading my blog after this post, but if this Ian dude happens to get in touch, I’ll pass on your deets 😉

  4. February 18, 2011 3:00 pm

    I’m with ya on needing to rent Alias. I *loved* the very few episodes I did see. And there are several current shows that I hear are fantastic, but I don’t watch them: How I Met Your Mother, Big Bang Theory, Modern Family… I’m sure they’re great, but I already watch so much TV!!

    • February 19, 2011 2:09 pm

      I do watch Modern Family and every time it’s on I do jumpy claps (in my head, anyway)…

  5. Natalie permalink
    February 18, 2011 3:00 pm

    We’ve started watching “Dexter” on Netflix. It’s great being able to watch on our time. You might have made me not like you a little bit since you’ve never seen “Gilmore Girls,” which happens to be one of my favorite shows of all time. I still don’t know why, but I loved it. If you missed Lauren Graham in that, I totally recommend “Parenthood.” It’s a great show with a powerhouse cast.

    • February 19, 2011 2:08 pm

      I know, I know…and I totally want to watch Parenthood, too! I plan on renting that one. I promise.

  6. February 18, 2011 9:12 pm

    Of those you listed, I’ve seen one season of 24 (then I had kids and got scared) and 10 minutes of Dexter. Now, the only shows I watch occasionally are The Office, Modern Family, and the Jon Stewart Show.

    As for movies, I guest posted at Educlaytion today. So I’m going to pimp the post here. It’s essentially Hollywood movies I like that have Canadian connections. Go vote for your favourite! http://wp.me/psVAf-Q3

  7. Marianne permalink
    February 18, 2011 10:31 pm

    After I got my husband addicted to 24, after watching about ten episodes, he turned to me and asked,” Are you disappointed I’m not Jack Bauer?” I shoved a Twix in my mouth.

    • February 19, 2011 2:07 pm

      I said something similar to my husband re. Sofia Vergara…he didn’t have chocolate handy but did feign deafness…

  8. February 19, 2011 5:02 pm

    I don’t understand why no one has mentioned Star Trek… ;P

    • Dominika permalink
      February 23, 2011 9:11 pm

      … just kidding… 🙂
      That’s how I learned English, though… 🙂

  9. February 19, 2011 11:43 pm

    Please tell me they are not still airing The Marriage Ref. I want to rip my eyes out just thinking about it. Dexter though? Get over the violence thing and watch this absolutely brilliant show. Me? I never watched The Wire. Which I’ve learned makes me unqualified to express my opinions on television EVER AGAIN.

    • February 20, 2011 11:28 pm

      Ugh. The Wire. That’s another one! I’ve also never seen an episode of any CSI or Law & Order show. I think I lean towards mindless escapist tv, but the Marriage Ref is too crappy, even for me…

  10. February 19, 2011 11:47 pm

    Hi. Stumbled on your blog… I’m a tv geek. Friday Night Lights was a fantastic show. I cried all through the finale. It’s worth getting the DVDs of this show. Do you ever watch Chuck on NBC? That one’s fun but may be on the way out soon. Catch it while you can.

    By the way, a grown up Pacey is now on Fringe on Fox.

    • February 20, 2011 11:27 pm

      Hey – thanks for stopping by! I’m totally getting FNL on DVD and I do watch Chuck!

  11. February 20, 2011 10:42 am

    You didn’t watch LOST??? Oh my god I sat up at night, hooked myself up to the LOST IV and sank heavily into my bliss…I miss LOST.

    And I loved me some Gilmore Girls!

  12. TheIdiotSpeaketh permalink
    February 21, 2011 11:54 am

    I miss LOST! Great show!

  13. February 22, 2011 8:37 pm

    OMIGODOMIGODOMIGODOMIGODOMIGODOMIGODOMIGODOMIGODOMIGODOMIGODOMIGODOMIGODOMIGODOMIGODOMIGODOMIGODOMIGODOMIGODOMIGODOMIGOD!!!!!

    I just watched the first episode of Friday Night Lights! LOVED IT!!!!!!!!!

    And am in the middle of the first episode of Alias! DOUBLE LOVE IT!!!!!!!!!!

    Can’t talk…or write…must. watch. tv.

Trackbacks

  1. Trust Your Inner Woo Woo « Lori Dyan

Leave a Reply

