Skip to content

A Tale of Two Titties

April 7, 2011

Thirty seconds after being born, my son latched onto my boob and stayed there for the next year. He was ten pounds at birth and is still in the 150th percentile. Obviously, my poor jugs assumed I’d birthed triplets and reacted accordingly: I became what is known as an over-producer (and, judging by this post, a bit of an over-sharer).

It got to the point that the only position in which I could nurse was lying flat on my back with my son flopped across me, like some macabre UFC vignette.

Even then, my poor kid could only take so much and large quantities of my milk went to waste. I often wished there was a milk bank where I could donate my extra supply, but nothing existed at the time. My bionic boobies have been out of commission for years; yet if they were still flowing freely, I’d definitely try to help out mothers like Camara. Her gorgeous baby, Anaya, is fighting for her life and breast milk is helping to keep her in the battle.

You can read Camara’s blog here and see her Facebook page here. Both sites have information on how milk (or money) can be donated to Camara and Anaya. You can even see a news story on her here (trust me, it’s all legit). For those in the United States, a lovely lady named Dana is going to accept milk donations at her American address (contact her here) and drive it across the border to Camara in early May.

If you aren’t in a position to help, please send loving vibes Camara and Anaya’s way. Now go give a hug to someone you love and give thanks to the power of boobs.

Camara and Anaya. Adorable, am I right?

21 Comments leave one →
  1. April 7, 2011 9:39 am

    I check out her blog. What a story. Thank you for sharing this Lori. Do you mind if I re-post this story in my blog and share with someof my friends? Thank you.

    • April 7, 2011 10:01 am

      I think she would be grateful if you spread the word! Thanks 🙂

  2. April 7, 2011 10:19 am

    Thanks for doing this, Lori. It’s quite a story.

    • April 7, 2011 8:41 pm

      I know – makes me wanna hug my daughter even though she keyed my car yesterday…

  3. April 7, 2011 10:19 am

    Oh, I was Mother Milk, too. Haven’t nursed in a decade so obviously I’m not in a position to donate. But thank you for spreading the word here.

    I can’t imagine this situation.

    Love being sent to everyone involved…

  4. April 7, 2011 10:39 am

    My boobs kicked ass, as long as it was a live show.

    Once I went back to work and attempting pumping at the office I dried up. Happened with both kids. I was devastated.

  5. April 7, 2011 6:40 pm

    I too was an over-producer, or as my lactation consultant not so subtly said, “You’re an overproducer with a lack of storage space.” Now I guess I’m an over-sharer too.

    A year or so after I was finished with breastfeeding, I too read about milk banks. How I wish I’d known about them then. It would have made the process even more worthwhile. Thanks for bringing attention to the fact that there are real needs for human milk out there!

    I will definitely check out Camara’s blog and see if there is anything I can do.

    • April 7, 2011 8:42 pm

      Yeah, I had space issues too (ONLY in the boobage area…if I could’ve stored it in my ass I could’ve gone for years)

  6. April 7, 2011 10:32 pm

    This was a powerful post. Speaking as an under-producer, I envied over ones – but now realize it was just as aggravating as under producing! I will donate $$ – glad you shared!

    • April 9, 2011 6:59 am

      I don’t think many women think they do it perfectly…therein lies the beginnings of maternal guilt!

  7. April 7, 2011 10:43 pm

    It always warms the cockles of my heart when women do such wonderful things for each other.

    Plus, it makes my boobs tingly.

  8. April 8, 2011 8:41 am

    Will be sending up good vibes for mom and baby.

  9. April 9, 2011 12:40 am

    I’m so thankful that you posted about Anaya and I. Thank you. You crack me up! I can totally picture the UFC position lol.

    • April 9, 2011 7:00 am

      Keep on keeping on, lady – lots of awesome ladies are pulling for you and Anaya!

  10. April 9, 2011 2:13 am

    I’m so thankful that you brought attention to this story…I hope you don’t mind that I’ve linked to your post on my blog. I’ve made Healing Anaya the featured blog on The Colie Chronicles this weekend.

    I love the Library of Hope…I can’t wait to have the kidlets pick a book to send.

    Thanks so much for sharing Lori!
    xo

  11. April 9, 2011 6:45 pm

    I too was an over-producer and was able to donate my milk to a milk bank here is California…it felt pretty good to help babies in need.

  12. April 9, 2011 6:50 pm

    That’s a very sad story…I wish them the best and I wish I could donate my milk to them, but I am dried up.

Leave a Reply

